9 Month Pregnancy Stages

Pregnancy normally lasts nine months for a human.

During pregnancy, a woman goes through many changes including physical and emotional. A woman can experience physical and emotional fatigue, heartburn, abdominal discomfort, nausea, vomiting and back pain. Pregnancy is different for each woman, however. Becoming a mom is a wonderful experience. During the nine stages of pregnancy, a mom should eat healthy, do not smoke or drink alcohol, and visit her doctor for regular exams.

Stage 1

Stage 1 begins when the sperm fertilizes the egg. The fertilized egg attaches itself to the uterine lining. As the egg grows, the lungs, heart and spinal cord begin to develop.

By the end of stage 1 of pregnancy, the baby's heart will begin to beat. The measurement of the baby during this stage is approximately 1/8-inch and weight is 0.03 ounces.

A woman may experience physical symptoms such as breast tenderness, fatigue, nausea and vomiting during this early stage of pregnancy.

Stage 2

Multi-ethnic pregnant women facing each other

What Is a Trimester?

Learn More

At Stage 2 of pregnancy, the embryo begins to take the shape of a baby instead of a tadpole. By the end of stage 2, all internal organs are beginning to develop, eyes and ears are beginning to form, and the arms, finger buds, legs, and toes buds are developing.

At this stage, the baby has its fingerprints. The measurement of the baby is about 1-inch long and weight is 0.1 ounce.

Women may experience symptoms of increased breast size, morning sickness and increased moodiness during this stage.

Stage 3

Stage 3 is when the embryo becomes a fetus.

The face, fingers and toes are fully formed, which make the fetus look more human.

The reproductive organs are forming, but sex of the baby cannot be determined. The measurement of the baby is about 3.5-inches long and it weighs 1.7 ounces.

Women will begin to notice the abdomen expanding to allow for growth of the baby. Fatigue and moodiness may diminish during stage 3.

Stage 4

Multi-ethnic pregnant women facing each other

What Does the Baby Look Like in the Womb at 17 Weeks Pregnant?

Learn More

Stage 4 is when the mom’s belly starts to be visible. The baby may begin to hear sounds, lungs continue to develop, and eyebrows and hair begin to start to appear.

At this stage, the baby’s heartbeat can be heard. The measurement of the baby is about 5.5-inches long and weight is 6 ounces.

The mom may begin to experience the feeling of butterflies in the belly which indicates movement from the baby. Also, mom may notice changes in her skin and veins will be noticeable.

Stage 5

Stage 5 is when the baby’s senses are active. The skin is sensitive and may respond to sounds and light.

The baby’s kidneys begin to function and emit urine.

At this stage, the immune system begins to help protect the baby from illness and infection. The measurement of the baby is about 7.5 inches and it weighs about 1 pound.

Women may experience indigestion or heartburn.

The symptom of nausea should be resolved. By the end of this stage, the mom can feel the baby move.

Stage 6

Stage 6, the eye retinas continue to develop, and the eyelids start to open and close. The baby also becomes aware of sounds.

At this time, the mom may experience kicking in the belly due to the fact the baby is move mobile. The measurement of the baby is about 10 inches and weight is about 2 pounds

The mom experiences more weight gain as the baby grows. This may cause stretch marks and feet being to swell. The mom will have more energy and may crave particular foods.

Stage 7

In stage 7, the baby can see and hear and becomes aware of mom and dad’s voices. The lungs are continuing to develop, bones and muscles are becoming stronger.

Eyelashes start to grow, and the reproductive organs start to develop. The measurement of the baby is about 11 inches and weight is 3 pounds.

During this stage, weight gain may be about 1 pound per week. Mom may also experience back pain, sleeping difficulties, pain in the leg muscles, constant urination and increased irritability.

Stage 8

In stage 8, brain growth of the baby occurs.

The baby’s body is almost fully formed. The lungs are still under development. The measurement of the baby is about 18 inches and weight is 5 pounds.

The mom may experience many discomforts including breathing difficulties as the baby pushes upward, leg muscle cramps, heartburn, sleeplessness and constant urination.

Stage 9

At stage 9, the baby is ready to be born and turns its head down in preparation.

The baby’s lungs are fully developed it continues to gain weight. The measurement of the baby is about 21 inches and weight is between 6 and 8 pounds.

The mom’s body prepares itself for labor. The mom may find it is difficult to sleep due to the sizable belly and emotions of becoming a mom.